Limitless Cinema in Broken English

August 22, 2008

MORE FILM WISH LIST

Filed under: Uncategorized — celinejulie @ 10:24 pm

This is my comment in Bioscope webboard:
http://www.bioscopemagazine.com/smf/index.php?topic=71.1620

1.THE CONFESSION (2002, Zeki Demirkubuz, Turkey)
http://www.foriegnmoviesddl.com/2008/05/itiraf-confession-2002-zeki-demirkubuz.html

2.DIARY OF A SHINJUKU THIEF (1968, Nagisa Oshima)
http://www.foriegnmoviesddl.com/2008/07/shinjuku-dorobo-nikki-diary-of-shinjuku.html

3.EX DRUMMER (2007, Koen Mortier, Belgium)
http://www.foriegnmoviesddl.com/2007/11/ex-drummer-2007-koen-mortier.html

4.THE GARDEN (1995, Martin Sulik, Slovakia)
http://www.foriegnmoviesddl.com/2008/01/zhrada-garden-1995-martin-sulk.html

5.SALVADOR (PUIG ANTICH) (2006, Manuel Huerga, Spain)
http://www.foriegnmoviesddl.com/2007/12/salvador-puig-antich-2006-manuel-huerga.html

6.TRICKS (2007, Andrzej Jakimowski, Poland)
http://www.foriegnmoviesddl.com/2008/05/sztuczki-tricks-2007-andrzej-jakimowski.html

7.TWO GIRLS (2005, Kutlug Ataman, Turkey)
http://www.foriegnmoviesddl.com/2008/07/iki-gen-kz-2-girls-2005-kutlu-ataman.html

8.WOLFSBERGEN (2007, Nanouk Leopold)
http://www.foriegnmoviesddl.com/2008/05/wolfsbergen-2007-nanouk-leopold.html

9.WOMAN IN CHAINS (1968, Henri-Georges Clouzot, France)
http://www.foriegnmoviesddl.com/2008/07/la-prisonnire-woman-in-chains-1968.html

4 Comments »

  1. hi,

    i am writing to ask a question about your film wish list. Are those the movies that you have already seen that you would like to own the dvd for or you haven’t seen yet but would like to see?

    i am still old fashioned and not really that much warmed up with the idea of downloading movies, even though the quality is becoming less and less of an issue and it’s very convenient. so i have previously thought of setting up a website to support a dvd share community, but not likely to realize it in the recent feature. But the spirit is there and I thought you might be a good point to start with if you are also interested in that. I know it’s hard to share dvds for some people but for me, i am ready to take risk and owe my dvds to others. i have decided to collect , in a 1-2 year period, the turkish movies i thought to be important and came up with a movie list. i will focus on the ones that are not available through netflix/facets/greencine in north america, which leaves bilge ceylan out of my focus while building a small collection. i will start with buying all movies by demirkubuz, and some classics from 80s by yavuz turgul and omer kavur.

    i have currently got two of the movies you have in your list, and if you have not seen them yet, and not intended this movie list to be the list for the ones you would like to own, but just watch, i can lend you those. i am thinking since you have the rapidshare links, you might have seen those and my proposal might be stupid, but still may initiate some action. if you have not seen KADER from demirkubuz, i recommend that one too, and i currently own the dvd of kader. (i dont mind sending them through cheapest media mail , wont cost more than 3$ for me, if you wanna borrow).

    zeren

    Comment by Anonymous — August 31, 2008 @ 9:40 am

  2. Zeren, thank you very much for your offer to lend me some great DVDs, though I have to tell you that it might be a little bit inconvenient for me to borrow some DVDs from you now, because I am very busy. But thanks a lot for your kindness.

    To answer your question straightforwardly, the nine films in the list above are the ones that I haven’t seen yet but would like to see. But though I wrote that I would like to see them, I don’t know if I would really have time to see them or not if they really become available. Actually I don’t own a computer, so I can’t download any movies via rapidshare, but I made the list above because some of my Thai friends had asked me to recommend some films from that website. Some of my friends like downloading some foreign films which are not available as DVDS, but they don’t know which films they should download, so I made this list for them.

    A few days ago I saw a DVD of WOLFSBERGEN being sold in Bangkok, but I decided not to buy it, because I don’t know when I will have time to see it. Though the lists I made are called MY FILM WISH LIST, I guess the real reason why I made these lists is partly because I want to encourage other people to see the films in the list.

    It’s great to hear that some films by Demirkubuz, Turgul, and Kavur are still available in Turkey. I think some other cinephiles may be interested in these films. 🙂

    Comment by celinejulie — September 1, 2008 @ 10:53 pm

  3. Thanks for your reply. Certainly i can provide them to anyone you know in bkk who is interested in seeing them and who will return them after seeing. but thinking this over, i remembered fred kelemen’s guardian article which he speaks against seeing movies on dvd :), maybe i really should show some effort in assisting the local cinematheque in my city.

    Comment by Anonymous — September 2, 2008 @ 12:57 am

  4. Thanks very much for pointing out to Kelemen’s article. I didn’t know about it. His article made me think about the short film THE BOY FROM MARS (Philippe Parreno). This film is tremendously magical when I saw it on a big screen, but it seems to lose much of its magic when I watch it in ubu web.

    Comment by celinejulie — September 11, 2008 @ 4:40 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

