Limitless Cinema in Broken English

October 17, 2008

GENRE FILMS FROM SOME COUNTRIES

Filed under: Uncategorized — celinejulie @ 11:37 pm

This is my comment in Supposed Aura’s blog:
http://supposedaura.blogspot.com/2008/09/genre-testimone-oculare-memorable.html

This is very interesting. I agree with it. I think Italian genre films in 1970’s are full of memorable mental images, though some of their screenplays or stories may have some weak points. For example, I think PUZZLE (1974, Duccio Tessari, A-) is boring as a thriller, but what I like the most in this film is the mental image of “something” which flashes into the hero’s mind from time to time, and I also like the romantic aspect of this film. The beautiful mental images in these Italian genre films set them apart from films from other parts of the world. I like genre films from other countries, too, but maybe for different reasons. I like some American films such as TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE (1974, Tobe Hooper) and I DRINK YOUR BLOOD (1970, David E. Durston) for their rawness. And I like some Spanish films such as WHO CAN KILL A CHILD? (1976, Narciso Ibanez Serrador), TO LET (2006, Jaume Balaguero), and THE BABY’S ROOM (2006, Alex de la Iglesia) for their stories or screenplays. I like the Australian genre films of Greg McLean for their beautiful scenery. But it’s hard to find genre films from other countries which are full of memorable mental images like Italian films in 1970’s. Having said that, I have to say that MURDER OF THE INUGAMI CLAN (2006, Kon Ichikawa) has some memorable mental images, too.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

