Limitless Cinema in Broken English

July 1, 2009

CAPTAIN AHAB (Philippe Ramos, A+++++)

Filed under: Uncategorized — celinejulie @ 2:59 pm

FILMS I SAW IN THE FRENCH FILM FESTIVAL

(in roughly preferential order)

1.CAPTAIN AHAB (2008, Philippe Ramos, A+)

2.SERAPHINE (2008, Martin Provost, A+)
http://ferdyonfilms.com/2009/06/seraphine-2008.php

3.VERSAILLES (2008, Pierre Schoeller, A+)

4.ALL ABOUT ACTRESSES (2009, Maiwenn, A+)

5.THOSE WHO REMAIN (2007, Anne Le Ny, A+)

6.PUBLIC ENEMY PART ONE (2008, Jean-Francois Richet, A+)

7.ON THE ROPES (2007, Magaly Richard-Serrano, A+/A)

8.I’VE LOVED YOU SO LONG (2008, Philippe Claudel, A+/A)

9.MODERN LOVE (2008, Stephane Kazandjian, A)

10.THE FIRST DAY OF THE REST OF YOUR LIFE (2008, Remi Bezancon, A-)

11.PUBLIC ENEMY PART TWO (2008, Jean-Francois Richet, A-)

12.LARGO WINCH (2008, Jerome Salle, B-)

2 Comments »

  1. This is my reply to Vespertine in my bilingual blog:
    http://celinejulie.blogspot.com/2009/07/captain-ahab-philippe-ramos.html

    CAPTAIN AHAB is very powerful. I love its images and some of its camera movements very much.

    I love that SERAPHINE presents the obstacles in life as coming from the society structure (lack of opportunities for lower-class people), fate (WW I which delayed the fame of Seraphine), and oneself (Seraphine’s insanity). It is very sad to see Seraphine being destroyed by herself like that.

    I like Marina Fois in ALL ABOUT ACTRESSES. I think I had never seen her films before. The scene in which Jeanne Balibar climbs out of a dumpster somehow reminds me of the playfulness in Jacques Rivette’s films.

    Comment by celinejulie — July 3, 2009 @ 6:59 pm

  2. This is my reply to Vespertine in my bilingual blog:
    http://celinejulie.blogspot.com/2009/07/captain-ahab-philippe-ramos.html

    Thank you very much, Vespertine, for your comments and Manotham’s opinions. I hope he writes about CAPTAIN AHAB.

    Another thing that I like very much about SERAPHINE is its serene tone, which may corresponds to Seraphine’s mind, though she is mad. This serene tone makes it very different from many biographical films about artists, which have a passionate tone, such as CAMILLE CLAUDEL (1988, Bruno Nuytten, A+), A JOURNEY CALLED LOVE (2002, Michele Placido, A), and CARAVAGGIO (2007, Angelo Longoni, A-). The serene tone of Seraphine reminds me of the serene tone in THE QUINCE TREE SUN (1991, Victor Erice, A+), though the artist in THE QUINCE TREE SUN is not mad at all.

    The scene in which Seraphine pees is quite memorable, and beautiful in its own way. Most peeing scenes in films are not presented in a beautiful way like this. The peeing scene in WINGED CREATURES (2008, Rowan Woods, A+) has a tragic feeling. The one in PEPI, LUCI, BOM (1980, Pedro Almodovar, A+) is very funny, while the one in LA MADRE MUERTA (1993, Juanma Bajo Ulloa, A+) is very thrilling.

    In ALL ABOUT ACTRERSSES, Melanie Doutey seems to have grown up a lot since THE FLOWER OF EVIL, while Rohmane Bohringer seems not to age that much after SAVAGE NIGHTS. I didn’t notice the poster of Blier’s film, but I guess it might be MERCI LA VIE (1991). I also think Maiwenn’s lips seem to be as wide as Beatrice Dalle, after I saw the poster of BETTY BLUE.

    Comment by celinejulie — July 6, 2009 @ 1:52 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

